Michigan’s Minimum Wage & Sick Time Could Be Changing
Michigan lawmakers are looking to raise the minimum wage from $9.25 to $12 an hour and make sure employers provide paid sick time for employees.
According to WZZM, state Senators David Hildenbrand (R-Lowell), and Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake), will get a hearing on Tuesday for bills that could up the minimum wage and provide paid sick days.
If the laws are passed, they would go into effect in 2022 and would include workers that receive tips. This could really change the bar and restaurant scene with workers who work on tips and receive a wage of $3.52 per hour. If the workers do not exceed the current minimum wage of $9.25 with their hourly and tips combined, their employer would have to make up the difference.
The law for paid sick days would require one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked by an employee.
The state Capitol will be reviewing both bills this week and hopefully make a decision soon.