The NFL released the 2020 schedule on Thursday with a 3 hour TV special on the NFL network and here is what is in store for our Detroit Lions.

According to WOOD, the first game of the season will be at home against the Lions rival Chicago Bears. It has been a while since these two teams have met opening day. The last time was in 1982.

Unfortunately the Lions get their bye week pretty early in the season in week 5. It's so much better for the Lions to get that by week later in the season when the injuries have started to pile up.

The way the dates fall on the calendar this year the last game of the season will wind up on January 3 when the Lions have their final division game against the Minnesota Vikings.

The annual Thanksgiving Day game that has been a tradition for as long as I can remember will be against the Houston Texans and that will be played at Ford Field.

Here is the full schedule that was posted on the Detroit Lions website:

Pre-Season:

August 13-17 @ New England Patriots - TBD

Thursday, August 20 vs. New York Jets - 8:00 p.m.

August 27-30 @ Miami Dolphins - TBD

September 3-4 vs. Buffalo - TBD

Regular Season:

Sunday, September 13 vs. Chicago Bears - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 20 @ Green Bay Packers - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 27 @ Arizona Cardinals - 4:25 p.m.

Sunday, October 4 vs. New Orleans Saints - 1:00 p.m.

Bye Week

Sunday, October 18 @ Jacksonville Jaguars - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 25 @ Atlanta Falcons - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 1 vs. Indianapolis Colts - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 8 @ Minnesota Vikings - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 15 vs. Washington Redskins - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 22 @ Carolina Panthers - 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 26 vs. Houston Texans - 12:30 p.m.

Sunday, December 6 @ Chicago Bears - 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, December 13 vs. Green Bay Packers - 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, December 19 or Sunday, December 20 @ Tennessee Titans - TBD

Saturday, December 26 or Sunday, December 27 vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers - TBD

Sunday, January 3 vs. Minnesota Vikings - 1:00 p.m.

As you can see there are still some bugs to work out in pre-season as well as late in the regular season.

The Lions were not clear on if fans will be at games but like other teams that have announced their method of re-opening their stadiums, I'm sure that will follow soon.

Most teams so far have said they are bringing in less fans, that will be escorted to their seats by security and will be scattered around the stadium. Fans will pre-order concessions to avoid lines but I guess we will have to wait for something more official from Lions management.

At the least we will be able to watch games from the safety of our homes and hopefully the Lions have a great season.