Can You Get Arrested for Driving Drunk on a Snowmobile in Michigan?
The snow will be flying soon in Michigan which means snowmobilers will be ready to hit the trails.
While most riders enjoy hitting the trails and traveling to several bars and restaurants along the way, there's always someone who indulges in a little too much alcohol.
Operating a snowmobile after you've been drinking alcohol can turn into a deadly combination.
Who Can Legally Drive A Snowmobile in Michigan?
Anyone with a valid driver's license can legally drive a snowmobile in Michigan. Also, anyone over the age of 12 and under the age of 17, with a valid snowmobile safety certificate in their immediate possession, or someone who is being supervised by an adult 21 years or older.
You may not operate a snowmobile if your driver's license has been suspended or revoked by the state of Michigan.
Can You Get Arrested for Driving Drunk on a Snowmobile?
The answer seems like it would be common sense but some people are surprised to hear that the answer is yes. Operating a snowmobile under the influence is considered drunk driving which is illegal.
What Are the Penalties?
According to KVJ, the penalty for authorizing another person to operate a snowmobile while intoxicated or impaired is a misdemeanor conviction punishable by a fine between $100.00 and $500.00, up to 93 days in jail, or both.
Remember to always prioritize safety, respect the rules of Michigan's trails, and make responsible choices. Simply put, have a blast this winter but don't drink and drive on those trails.
These 10 Michigan Towns Experience The Worst Snowfall
Earliest First Snowfall Dates for Michigan Cities
Gallery Credit: jrwitl
LOOK: The most expensive weather and climate disasters in recent decades
Gallery Credit: KATELYN LEBOFF