This child's Christmas might look a little bleak after he accidentally got his parents ticketed while out boating.

The incident occurred over Memorial Day weekend when the Michigan DNR was patrolling Dead River Basin in Marquette County. The conservation officer (C.O) on site saw a young boy "excitedly reel in a small walleye" so he approached the boat to congratulate him. While explaining to the kid what his role as a C.O is, the boy unexpectedly yelled out "Mommy and Daddy don't have life jackets!"

I bet you're laughing right now. Well so did the officer thinking nothing of it since the kid was wearing a life jacket, but the parents weren't. However, after inspection, the officer indeed did not find any adult life jackets on board. The parents were then issued a citation "for failing to maintain/carry safety equipment on their vessel."

The Life Jacket Rule in Michigan states that all vessels must have a personal flotation device (PFD) for every person on board. According to the DNR, 84.5% of people who drowned in a recreational boating accident weren't wearing a life jacket.

According to this list of boating violations from Roscommon County, the fine for not having a PFD accessible is $100. For a child 6 and under, the fine goes up to $125.

If you plan on spending your summer on the water, it's best to be aware of the boating laws in Michigan. And if you're really smart, you'll stay as far away from this crazy (and kinda gross) party that attracts 60K+ people on Lake St. Clair.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app